Home. 

There’s a moment you experience when you love. It’s a feeling of complete and utter joy. It consumes you, almost from the inside out. It’s the rush of sweet tender memories that flood your heart and encourage that smile. It’s the smile you get when you see something you’ve loved and lost, the smile reserved for those closest to your heart. It was like jazz man. There was a build up so intense it consumed me. I could feel my heart pounding like sums in Caravan. Quick, fast and steady. The countdown was overwhelming.  Ladies and gentlemen please fasten your seatbelt a as we prepare for our final decent into New York JFK. I trembled at the thought of being home. The cold couldn’t keep me away. I longed for the scent of trash and the deadly windchill. I couldn’t get to a subway fast enough. As much as I missed being in Los Angeles, nothing felt like New York. They say home is where the heart is and New York has stolen mine. 

Leave a Reply

